Korean Variety Show Review: Appa Oediga/Dad, Where Are You Going?

By The Gorgeous Palah Chingu

When it comes to variety show, I can assure you that nothing can beat Korean variety show. They had created (by far) the most ingenious and creative games, quizzes, sports and even reality show in their entertainment world. I got addicted years ago because I was once a hardcore Korean Pop (K-pop) fan. I watched Family Outing, Running Man, Happy Together, Lets Go Dream Team, Golden Bell, Star King, Invincible Youth and many more. In the year of 2012 & 2013, Running Man had taken the world by storm and their popularity rise more than I can imagine. Back then in 2008, nobody around me knew Yoo Jae Suk but now, even my aunt recognized him. That’s the scale on how massive Running Man had been now. However, I am not going to talk about Running Man. Lately, the episodes had began to bore me and sometimes I didn’t even finish watching the whole thing. Maybe they should bring back the old games into the program.

Running Man
Running Man
Lets Go Dream Team
Lets Go Dream Team
Family Outing
Family Outing
Star King
Star King

Actually, I want to talk about one of the Korean Variety shows titled ‘Appa Oediga’ or in English as ‘Dad, Where are you going?’ Truth be told, I hate kids. I hate the sound of kid’s crying and they annoy me to death. Why I decided to watch this show even when I know it involved a bunch of kids? First and foremost, Jib (my ex roommate at USM) laughing like maniac watching this show. I am interested to know more about the show because for me, Jib is not so easily to entertain. When she laughed while watching it means that must be something different served in the show. I was curious back then but the feeling not strong enough to push me into watching it yet. I just copied it to my external hard disk and kept it there. I said to myself ‘Maybe one day I’ll watch it’. When ruby did come and visit me at Penang, she watched the show. Like Jib, she was hooked and cannot stop laughing about it. Finally, i planned to give it a try. I watched sibling special episode and heck yeah, i was sold.

My Rating: 3.5/5
My Rating: 3.5/5

What is it that this show offered compared to others Korean variety show? I guess that it had different format to it. They put among 5 famous peoples (2 actors, 1 soccer player, 1 emcee and 1 singer) in South Korea who already had kids to join in this show. Together with their kids, they are going to many places in South Korea, doing many activities and spending their times together. The show is basically to show how those fathers will be interacting with their children. Korean artists prone to have such a hectic and busy schedule and sometimes they don’t even spent much time with their family. Even in the first episode, we can see so much awkwardness and discomfort displayed between those fathers and their sons. However, they began to mend their relation episode by episode in this show. You can see that the kids can connect with their fathers and already acknowledges the existence of their father. Some of them who rarely talk to their kids now already become friend and closer to each other.

My favorite episodes: Nothing can beat sibling special episode. I watched those episodes first before I decided to commit myself to the whole show. I like how some of them realized that taking care of their children is not so easy and they are very thankful for their wife for doing it on a daily basis. I also can see how they interacted with their siblings. They are so many funny and heartwarming moments on those episodes. New Zealand episode also one of my favorite as those fathers struggled in speaking English but not their sons. I am impressed with Joon and Mingook for speaking perfect English (considering their age, it was good). For friend special episode, we can see how much alike the kids with their friend. I remember one scene that Joon told his father that his friend is awesome and everything but fun is not among them. it turned out that his friend are just like him, the quiet one.

47.flv_002194605

47.flv_002203647

47.flv_002208652

My favorite pairs : Personally, I like all of them. However, Sung Dong Il and Sung Joon is the one that I feel got many benefits when they joined the show. Sung Dong Il known for his strictness and low tolerance on spoiled kids. He wanted his kids to behave whenever he’s with them. Due to this, Joon cannot really get along with him and preferred to be silent rather than talk to him at all. Joon’s nickname in the show is ‘scholar Joon’. This is because he rarely talks and whenever they captured and recorded him, he always reading or doing some of deep thinking that kid his age will never did. However in siblings episode, we can see how Joon’s sister Bin behaved totally opposite of him. Bin is persistent and cheerful little girl. If Joon is Sung Dong Il’s tranquility, Bin is Sung Dong Il’s bliss. Sung Joon and Sung Bin had a hot and cold relationship as Joon initially will not agree to let Bin come on the show and causing Bin to beg him for permission. At first I thought Joon did not like Bin much but after I saw how active and feisty Bin is, I know why Joon didn’t want her to come. He must pay much attention towards Bin because after all, he is her older brother.

31.flv_000360760 31.flv_001028761 31.flv_001042608 31.flv_001054954 31.flv_001060326 31.flv_00106689931.flv_001075975

Another pair of father-son in the show that I like is Yoon Min Soo and Yoon Hoo. They are nothing like Sung Dong Il and Sung Joon. They get along well even before the show. Yoon Min Soo is the friendly kind of father. He treated his son as his equal and showered him with so much affection. I envied their relationship actually. There are one particular scene when Hoo fell and cried, Min Soo hugged him and apologize to him for not being attentive enough to him and let him fell. If I fall, I am pretty sure that my parents will blame me for being careless and there is no chance that they will say sorry for not paying enough attention to me. As Hoo is the only son for Min Soo and he can’t show any interaction with sibling during sibling episode, Min Soo coolly asked Hoo to call him hyung on that episode. Hyung means brother in Korean and Minsoo wanted Hoo to pretend that he’s an elder brother of him to ensure he’s not lonely.

31.flv_000845845 31.flv_000850316 31.flv_000861894

The rest of father-son pairs like Kim Sung Joo and Kim Min Gook and Lee Jong Hyuk and Lee Jun Su are a typical father that spoiled their children and getting annoyed with their kids’ spoilt behavior in the same time. There are sometime I feel irritated seeing Min Gook cried and being immature compared to the rest of kids. Junsu is naughty and rarely well-behaved and Jong Hyuk seldom scolded him for doing so. Their attitude toward kids is similar to what parents nowadays look like. There is nothing peculiar about them so I decided not to comment much on them.

10.flv_002862426 10.flv_002864428 10.flv_002867732 10.flv_002868532

There are one hilarious scene occurred in sibling special episode that i find it so cute!!!  Being sassy and playful little kid, Min Yool (Min Gook’s little brother) entertained us with wrong manner speech, calling himself ‘Oppa’ even though he’s younger than Jia.

20.6.mp4_000433343 20.6.mp4_000440583 20.6.mp4_000442703

Song Jia and Song Jong Kook are exhibiting a typical father-daughter relation. Being the only girl in the show, Jia is being treated like a princess by others and her dad especially. She does have the princess syndrome and she’s not afraid to show it. Her father was not bothered at all by it. I felt pity towards Song Ji Wook, Jia’s little brother because it seems Jia is the one that got more attention despite being the older one. There are certain scenes that show Jong Kook felt Ji Wook has been closer toward him compared to pre-show. I truly felt that Ji Wook had to work twice to earn her father reaction. I don’t hate Jia but if it is up to me, I will treat my son and my daughter equally.

8.flv_000234067 8.flv_000235602 8.flv_004248878 8.flv_004245007

Anyway, thanks for the team that subbed all of this Korean Variety Shows. Without you guys, we wont be able to enjoy any korean show at all. You guys are the epitome of true fans.
Credit to: Kshownow and Djjang Subs for the videos.

Leave a Reply

