The Blacklist (2013) : TV SERIES REVIEW

By The Gorgeous Palah Chingu

My Rating: 4.5/5
My Rating: 4.5/5

Before any of you proceed to read this post, let me warn you that this may contain spoiler and my obsession to James Spader will somehow make you guys want to vomit. Anyway, I don’t care. This is my post. I can write whatever I want. This Ahjusshi (Korean word for ‘Uncle’) really turned me on. He may not have a hotness level like Mads Mikkelson but damn, his character got my attention in the blacklist. The way he portrayed his role (mhhhhmmmmm) is just so evil-ish sexy. I know I watched this drama series very late considering I am a TV series maniac but guys; I hate to wait every week for a new episode to release. When the pilot episode is released on september 2013, I made a decision to wait until season 1 is over. When  the last episode, episode 22 is released last week, I already set up my things for drama series marathon.  A cup of ice coffee and an instant noodle is suffice for me to do ‘The Blacklist’ Marathon. Not that kind of running marathon (please dont be confused with that), It is the back to back marathon of episode by episode and I only stopped when I felt sleepy, tired and hungry. Otherwise, I was hooked on my laptop screen. In ‘The Blacklist’, James Spader portrayed his role as ‘Raymond Reddington’ who recently surrendered to FBI as he already on the list as ‘The Most Wanted Fugitives’ in FBI. He was brought in and been put in the secured location known as ‘The Post Office’. Reddington or Red as people called him claimed that he shared the same interest with the FBI. They wanted to catch the criminal and he can assisted them  to do so. He reveled to the FBI that he has a list of criminals and terrorist names that FBI does not even knew they existed. He called it as ‘the blacklist’. However, in exchange of his information, he wanted an immunity from FBI and the channel of communication that he will using only through one rookie agent named Elizabeth Keen.

James Spader as 'Raymond Reddington'
James Spader as ‘Raymond Reddington’

I just finished the whole season yesterday and the feeling to to write my thoughts on the series is just exploding. First of all, the character of ‘Raymond Reddington’ is just awesome. Awesome maybe an understatement but well, if audience and critics love his character, you really cant deny the character’s awesomeness. He is vicious when he needs to be, he has a business-like mind and he does not associate with the concept of ‘good citizen’ or ‘loyal to the country’. For him, it is all about business. He takes good care of his people but when one of them deceived him, death will be their answer. He showed no mercy as he wanted to set example that nobody should never cross him ever. What I like about ‘Red’ is he’s being true to his character but he has his human being side. He knows he is a bad person but that does not necessarily mean he should kill people all the time. When there is a time he is being confronted to help people, he help them. I could say that almost all episode of the blacklist, the episode revolves around ‘Red’ and the rookie agent known as ‘Agent Keen’. He did what he saw necessarily fit to protect ‘Agent Keen’. I still cant figure out what are their relationship is; part of me said Red is Agent’s keen father (but when the last episode 22 is broadcast last week), i just stunted. I am not sure anymore.

Megan Boone as 'Agent Keen'
Megan Boone as ‘Agent Keen’

I don’t love ‘Agent Keen’ role but I also don’t hate it. My feeling floats in between. At first, I thought Red is sexually attracted to Agent keen. I mean, she’s hot and woman with a gun can be a major turn on to some guy. However, when the show proceeded, those feeling change to the affection of a father to a daughter. I wanted Agent Keen to be stronger, more focus and women with a drive and determination. It turned out that whenever any problem arises or she failed to find solution, she turned to Red for a help. I mean, come on, you are a trained agent, graduated on top of your class, you supposed to show your charismatic side and how you can handle the problem without asking for any assistance. I can’t believe I said this but Agent Keen should have more ego. It would be great if she can be deadly good as ‘Agent Annie’ in the ‘Covert Affair’ drama series or like ‘Nikita’ in the ‘Nikita’ Drama series. When she found out that her husband in not a school teacher but a spy, the perfect marriage that she thought she had crumbled. Actually, i felt sympathy towards her. I know she totally in love with his husband. The fact that his husband confessed that he is just doing his job and how he knew that she fell for him on their third date is just plain cruel. Part of me wanted Tom Keen confessed that he did love Agent Keen but that would be totally cliche. It didnt happen anyway. The rest of the blacklist casts like those who portrayed as agent Meera Malik, Aram or Ressler; I don’t have any problem with them. They did a good job being a supporting cast. Their role, on the other hand is suffice to say can sustain the story line.

Agent Ressler
Diego Klattenhoff as Agent Ressler
Agent Cooper
Harry Lannix as Director Cooper
Agent Meera
Parminder Nagra as Agent Meera
Agent Aram
Amir Arison as Agent Aram

There are some episodes that are memorable but there are also some which is just ‘mehhh’ and not really grab my focus when I am watching it. I will definitely remember episode 10 and 11 when a group of criminal succeeds to infiltrate the FBI facility and taken down the entire building with the agents in it. The whole scene still clear to me because to break into FBI building and managed to take the agents as captives, it will take an organized criminal gang with meticulous plan to do so. One particular scene still lingers in my mind is when Dembe and Red praying together in Arabic before they shoot him. That scene is so touching and it makes me cried. I already knew about the scene because Ruby told me. It would be awesome if I didn’t know about it and watch it myself. The other episode that I remember is ‘The Good Samaritan’. I have a thing with vigilante. I don’t know why but I think they are necessary tools to repair the system that sometimes couldn’t provide fairness and justice to the citizen. This episode showed a paramedic who randomly choose his hospital, subbing for staff and find the victims who have been abused by their husband/wife/parents. When he found one, he investigated the case and he will drugged and kidnapped the perpetrators of those domestic violence cases. He inflicted the similar pain and injury that they did to their wife, husband or children. If you hurt your child and he has a minor fracture, this Good Samaritan will do the same to you. It was like ‘An eye for an eye, and a tooth for a tooth’. Other episodes like ‘the stewmaker’  and ‘Ivan’ should not be skipped.

Tom Keen
Ryan Eggold as Tom Keen

Overall, this show is a ‘must watch’ series. With a fast paced plot, thrilling and enticing story and a great casts, you are not going to feel that your time is wasted. If you are hoping to see any sexual scenes in this series, let me tell you that there are none. I am a bit disappointed actually to find out that almost to zero of any bed or sex scene between agent keen and her husband but the writers of the series do know more. Maybe they find it is not that important to include any. On the other hands, there are some eye candies featured in the series. You can check out Agent Keen’s Husband, Tom Keen (in my opinion, he is so cute) until I found out later that he was a spy. Suddenly, I find him so hot and fuckable (Oh My!). Agent Ressler and Aram is good looking too but they are just not my type. Anyway, I am looking forward to ‘The Blacklist’ season 2. I hope that there is no change of writers for season 2 since I felt comfortable with their writing style. It’s not too drag-ish and you can fathom the rationality why such incidents or events occurred.

1

Last but not least, I found one episode where James Spader said my name. I know some of you might have a very common name and you just dont give a fuck when you find out that there is character in tv series that used similar name with yours. It’s totally different thing with me. Having an arabic name means there is no chance that my name will appear in any TV SERIES (Until ‘The Blacklist’). I even screen captured the scene. Don’t be Jealous. Miahhahahahha.

Leave a Reply

