[Movie Review] X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

By The Gorgeous Palah Chingu

My Rating: 4/5
My Rating: 4/5

First of all, I don’t read any marvel comics. Not that I don’t want to but it is so freaking hard to buy 1 in my hometown. I am sure I can find it in Kuala Lumpur but it is rather impossible in Ipoh. If any of you wanting to tell me that comic is so much better or they could have done this scene or that scene accordingly, don’t waste your time. Secondly, I don’t have anything against comics, I read them when I was younger and they are one of my entertainments. So no, I used to read comics and yes, I will read it now if I’ve bought any. Thirdly, (not related with the above issue), I fucking love X-men: Days of Future Past. This post should not be considered as a review actually for I am here only to spazzing McBender to the core (maybe I will put a little of this film review at the end of the post). McBender is the name given by the fandom of the OTP young Professor X and Young Magneto portrayed by James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender. X-men First Class explicitly showed the Bromance and Frenemy in the movie causing Tumblr in Chaos. By chaos, I mean there are too many post, gift, picture of McBender. The chemistry between them worked in the Xmen First Class and ever since known as McBender. If you are interested to know more don’t just watch X-Men: First Class, you should watch their entire interview. They are goofy (particularly McAvoy) and charming as ever. The only thing that I find pretty dissatisfied is their scenes in X-men: Days of Future Past could have been longer. I know it is impossible given that Anna Paquin Scene has been cut short and her role has been reduced to the special appearance only. It is quite sad for I am a big fan of her and I also like how Anna Paquin portrayed Rogue in the previous Xmen films.

2 Professor X in 1 Time Dimension.
2 Professor X in 1 Time Dimension.
McBender Alert!!!!
McBender Alert!!!!

The scene when Professor X and Magneto fought and argued in the plane is one of the scenes that I have been looking forward to see. It has so much sexual tense in it that I practically imitated one of memes in 9gag asking them to kiss. They should kiss and make the whole fandom shook and led tumblr to crash for one day. Sorry, that’s not x-men. That’s just my filthy imagination. Wolverine returned and this time not as cameo like X-men first class. He’s been asked to travel back in the past for only himself could survive it as he has power of healing. I have this one habit where I rarely checked any trailer or scene or whatever video footage shown in the YouTube of film that I am looking forward to watch it in cinema. To cut short, I hate spoiler. Thus, I don’t know about Quicksilver role is portrayed by Evan Peters. I’ve been worshipping him with violet since I watched American Horror Story Season 1. They already passed season 3 but for me, He and Violet is the epitome of love. It is psychotic to think so because one of them is already dead and the other one is suicidal. It is so twisted but it fucking works. Anyway, if you cannot brain what I am babbling about, Keep it to yourself and assumes that I am indeed crazy. Anyway, Evan Peters who already is a good actor managed to bring a massive laughter to the audience in his scenes. It is short but memorable. My favorite scene of Quicksilver is when he is on the way to breakout the detention centre when Young Magneto is being held.

Quicksilver in Action!!!
Quicksilver in Action!!!

Jennifer Lawrence returning on the screen as Young Mystique and has been drifted apart from Young Professor X due to the ideology differences. When she found out that some of her companions has been killed and died during the experiment conducted by human, she felt the need to avenge them. She has taken this matter in her hand without consulting with anyone. The action of hers is the event that led the whole sentiment of destroying mutant at all cost by human race. Professor X successfully convinced her not to follow her hasty decision but failed to make Mystique returned to her. I have to say that I didn’t expect J.Law played such important role in X-men: Days of future past. Who would have thought that she holds the key of Mutant’s future. Kitty Pryde portrayed by Ellen Page is one of the important roles in this film. Without her, the whole memory travelling and juggling won’t be possible.

Kitty Pryde brought wolverine back to the past via her power.
Kitty Pryde brought wolverine back to the past via her power.
Magneto felt killing Mystique will solve everything.
Magneto felt killing Mystique will solve everything.

Overall, Xmen: Days of Future Past is fast-paced story with many thrilling of combat actions. You might want to focus on the earlier scene because they tend to move back and forth from past, present and future. If you failed to do so, the virtual gigantic question mark may appear in your head. I like the whole dynamic of X-men in the future that even the Old Magneto realized his mistake for leading rogue to the wrong path and set ablaze the mutant’s future. They fought the Sentinel, the machinery invented by Human to destroy the mutants. Although Sentinel is deemed to be the strongest force to crush them but they stick to each other and try to hold the Sentinel army from approaching forward. The scene where storm died killed by Sentinel is really of the most terrifying scene in the film. This is a freaking mutant film and none of it is real but I still cried. When Magneto fought the sentinel until his last breath, that’s where you see that he’s after all have a little humanity left inside him. I won’t comment on plot or writing for I didn’t read the comics and admitted have little knowledge about it. However, if you can google and see that rating given by Rotten Tomatoes, MetaCritic and IMDB websites to this film is no joke. That means, audiences and critics love the film and it is commendable to watch it in Cinema.

whats left of Mutants if they failed to alter the past.
whats left of Mutants if they failed to alter the past.
Leave a Reply

